QCustomPlot Discussion and Comments

Cannot create Context Menu on Legend Item Return to overview

Hi there,

I'm still new with qcustomplot and trying to understand the interaction functionality. I studied the interaction example and wanted to adapt it a little bit to my needs. I'd like to be able to open a context menu on an item in the legend and/or on any graph in the plot. Unfortunately I couldn't find out yet how to accomplish this.
I understood that in mainwindow.cpp, line 56, this connect statement ...

connect(ui->customPlot, SIGNAL(customContextMenuRequested(QPoint)), this, SLOT(contextMenuRequest(QPoint)));

... together with the slot method contextMenuRequest(QPoint) manages the creation of a context menu when the cursor is placed on the legend and then a secondary click is issued. In the above mentioned method the menu is created and populated with actions to move the legend. In case a legend item was at the cursor position when the secondary click was issued I want to add a menu entry which shows a popup window that allow for editing some properties of the respective graph.
So in the contextMenuRequest() method I need to be able to

1. determine which graph's legend item was below the cursor and

2. pass this information to the menu action that brings up the editing window for
the graph.

For step 1. I tried this (in the method contextMenuRequest() at line 234):

auto legendItem = qobject_cast<QCPAbstractLegendItem*>(itemAt(pos));

But unfortunately the call to itemAt(pos) always returns 0. What am I doing wrong?

i dont know if it still works this way in 2.0, but in the old version, there was a signal for 'legendClick', which you would connect to.

i dont think the 'itemAt' function can return a legendItem, i think it is only plottable items.

I can help you with left button click :)
I think you must enable legend selection with:

setInteraction(QCP::iSelectLegend,true);

Then, connect some slot, for ex: