QCustomPlot Discussion and Comments

Advice for the creation of an interactive ROI objectReturn to overview

Dear all,

First of all, I would like to thank the developer of this library for the amazing job that has been done. I'm clearly impressed by the quality of the code and the performance of the library.

I'm pretty new to QCustomPlot and to C++ from a general manner (started 6 days ago ;-)). I've been using Python for several years now for simple scientific scripting programming but also for the development of GUI applications using PyQt. One of my need for these GUI apps is the ability to have some interactive tools on plots (either simple charts or images). Up to now, I used PyQtGraph which did a very incredible job on that aspect (and many others). For now (but I may be wrong), there is not the same amount of interactivity out-of-the box with QCustomPlot, that is why I would like to add some of the functionality I found in other libraries in QCustomPlot. It seems simple to do as, from my point of view with my limited knowledge of QCustomPlot so far, QCustomPlot seems to offer solid functionnalities that can be used to build complex objects.

The first one was quite simple to add : I needed a draggable InfiniteLine to point out a specific area of my plot. The InfiniteLine is simply a horizontal or vertical QCPItemStraightLine. The draggable functionality was pretty simple to add. Here is my solution (hope it will be useful for others, and my solution is correct)

infiniteline.h

#ifndef INFINITELINE_H
#define INFINITELINE_H

#include "qcustomplot.h"

class QMouseEvent;
class QVariant;
class QPointF;

class InfiniteLine : public QCPItemStraightLine
{
    Q_OBJECT

public:
    InfiniteLine(QCustomPlot *parentPlot, Qt::Orientation mOrientation);
    ~InfiniteLine();

Qt::Orientation orientation() const { return m_orientation; }

protected:
    Qt::Orientation m_orientation;

protected slots:
    void mousePressEvent(QMouseEvent *event, const QVariant &details);