QCustomPlot Discussion and Comments

ColorMap gradient is not working like I am expecting.Return to overview

I am new with QCustomPlot. This is just an exercise. I am trying to set the Gradient for the colormap. It is quite possible that I just don't understand how the color map works. Please correct me if I am wrong.
I tried to create a gradient map with 4 colors (red, green, blue, yellow). These were just random color selection. I want to set the stop at every 25%. I just create a simple 1X4 grid with each row has a different color.

setGeometry(0, 0, 200, 200);

QCustomPlot* customPlot = new QCustomPlot();
    QCPColorMap *colorMap = new QCPColorMap(customPlot->xAxis, customPlot->yAxis);

QCPColorGradient gradient;
    gradient.setLevelCount(4);

gradient.clearColorStops();

gradient.setColorStopAt(0.25, QColor("red"));
    gradient.setColorStopAt(0.50, QColor("green"));
    gradient.setColorStopAt(0.75, QColor("blue"));
    gradient.setColorStopAt(1.00, QColor("yellow"));

colorMap->setDataScaleType(QCPAxis::stLinear);

colorMap->data()->setSize(1, 4);
    colorMap->data()->setRange(QCPRange(0, 1), QCPRange(0, 1));

colorMap->setGradient(gradient);
    colorMap->setInterpolate(false);

colorMap->data()->setCell(0, 0, 0.25);
    colorMap->data()->setCell(0, 1, 0.50);
    colorMap->data()->setCell(0, 2, 0.75);
    colorMap->data()->setCell(0, 3, 1.00);

colorMap->rescaleDataRange(false);
    customPlot->rescaleAxes();
    customPlot->replot();

setCentralWidget(customPlot);
 ;

I was expecting that 4 rows with different colors (red, green, blue, yellow) at an .25 interval. I got a red, maroon, blue, yellow and they were not at the specified interval. It looks like there may be some kind of color interpolation. I played around with the colorstop by adding something like this

gradient.setColorStopAt(0.00, QColor("red"));
    gradient.setColorStopAt(0.26, QColor("green"));
    gradient.setColorStopAt(0.51, QColor("blue));